What is your “why”?

goodbyemrchips1This morning I watched the classic movie Goodbye Mr. Chips and I was reminded about the “why” that I try to focus on every day.    To simplify it – your “why” is the thing that motivates you to get up every morning and work a little harder to get a little better.

As a school librarian my why reflects my personal belief that we are here on this earth for a purpose – that purpose being to make this place better by our presence and our actions.  It is my hope that the classes I teach emphasize the importance of kindness and the responsibility to be the best citizen we can be, both digitally and in person.

In the movie, Mr. Chips’ wife asks him what motivates him as a teacher, ending her question with the statement “I don’t see how you can ever get old in a world that is forever young…”  The story takes place in the early 1900’s yet its message is timeless.

Mr. Chips, like many teachers before him and since, dedicated his life to helping his students grow intellectually and, even more importantly, as well-rounded, complete citizens.

Last week, in one of the rare quiet moments in the library, I had a chance to help a student one-on-one, find that perfect book.  Seeing his smile and having that positive interaction reminded me that we need to remember that those “small” moments really aren’t that small.  We need to take time every day to focus on the “why” and embrace it with joy….

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

